UFC!

The Monday morning after Ronda Rousey and Liz Carmouche made history by being the first women to fight in the UFC, I was in the gym training. Paul Rimmer, my coach, casually sat down next to me and asked “what are you up to at the moment?”
“Working, enjoying my grappling, spending time with my family – why?”
“Did you see the Rousey – Carmouche fight at the weekend?”
“Yes. Where are you going with this?”
“If you were offered a UFC fight, would you take it?”
“Of course I would, but that seems pretty unlikely.”
“Leave it with me.”

So at five to one last Wednesday when my phone rang and the name came up – Graham Boylan (my manager), it felt a bit like being on a rollercoaster just reaching the top before a big drop.

“You got a few minutes?”
“I’ve got a patient arriving in 5 minutes, but go on – what’s up?”
“I’ve got you a UFC fight if you want it. Alexis Davis, June 15th in Winnipeg. Call me back when you’re finished.”

Whoa.

16 hours later and I’m elbow deep in paperwork. Later that evening, I’m sat in a restaurant with my boyfriend and I get a call from Graham to tell me that the news is out. “They released it about 20 minutes ago. Your social media will be going mad right now.” He wasn’t wrong.

It’s all happened rather quickly. Or – depending on how you look at it, it’s taken forever. Fighting in the UFC is something I’ve dreamed of for the last ten years. Until very recently I never thought a women’s division would happen in time for me, and even then, I never really considered that I’d get a shot at it. The last few days have been surreal – I still feel like I’m about to wake up any moment.

Of course, there’s the elephant in the room that a few people have pointed out – this fight’s at 135, which isn’t my usual weight class. I’ll say a bit more about that later. Right now, I’ve got some training to do!

6 comments

  1. Rosi,

    I have waited for you to get the call, and now it is here.
    You will entertain, the show needs smart tactical fighters and you are the real deal.

Leave a Reply

