This isn’t the title fight you’re looking for…

You’ve got to feel a bit sorry for Alexis Davis. After a couple of big wins, she felt she was next in line for a title shot. She has a point. I think she’s legitimately one of the best grapplers in the division, and someone who, on paper, is certainly capable of giving Ronda Rousey a tough fight.

Instead – she gets me. “Rosi – who?” you can hear her saying. “What’s she doing here? She’s not even a 135 fighter!”

Still, being Canadian, Alexis is much too nice to say any of this.

In case any of the fans are confused by the apparent lack of trash talk, I thought I’d provide a translation.

“I’ve been a big fan of [Sexton’s] for a long time. She has fought all over at several different weights and has really been hitting her stride lately.”

I want you all to know she’s legit, so I get credit for it when I beat her up.

“She’s been in MMA for a lot longer than I have”

She’s getting on a bit now.

“I think that the majority of the fight will probably wind up on the ground because that’s what we’re both known for.”

I’m going to knock her out standing. But shhh, don’t tell anyone.

“[Submitting] a fighter like Rosi, no matter which weight class you’re fighting at, would be a huge push for my career.”

There’s no getting away from it. She’s kinda small. This should be easy.

“That’s something that I always like to look forward to, is getting submission victories.”

I’ve already decided how I’m going to spend that bonus money…

15 comments

  1. I certainly hope that this does not speak to a lack of confidence on your part. Please forgive me if I am completely misreading you; I have a level of perception typically found in blocks of masonry material.

    1. This is hilarious. Self-deprecating and confident at the same time. LOVE IT.

      I also think your commentary on the Fallon Fox brouhaha is the single most sensible thing I’ve read, heard or seen on the subject.

      I figured if the medical people said she was Ok to fight women then it was reasonably OK. I wasn’t totally supportive of it, but I trusted their judgement. I like your nuanced interpretation as an alternative.

    2. Fantastic to have such a strong, intelligent, healthy role model for young women to look up to, just think you should have the same recognition that an Olympic medal winner would get. The amount that you have done for women and men in MMA with Safe MMA should be nationally recognised, shame we wont be seeing you on the new years honours list though.
      I am really excited to be the new BT UFC blogger (internal) for BT staff would be amazing if I could send you some questions on e-mail. Really want to share my love for the sport and highlight the importance of supporting women in MMA..

  2. It is utterly abhorrent that any intelligent woman (or man for that matter) could find self-fulfillment in the organised barbarism that is MMA. The learning of martial arts, especially those forms beneficial and advantageous in street situations (such as Krav Maga), should be encouraged particularly for women to defend themselves and disable any would-be attacker by any means. But something must be lacking when one wishes to prove themselves by utlising their martial arts’ skills to beat the living daylights out of their opponent all in the name of entertainment (sport?) so the blood-thirsty hyenas in the audience can attain some form of gratuitous, sadistic satisfaction. It is just a manifestation of arrogance on the part of the fighter? Perhaps, but the whole setup certainly makes us no different from Roman barbarians in the Colosseum.

    1. As someone who spent more than a decade doing traditional martial arts before coming to MMA, I can assure you that learning physical “self-defence” to “disable any would-be attacker” without ever testing yourself against someone who is actually trying to do you harm is little more than fantasy role play. I wanted something real.

  3. Exciting time for women MMA and congrats Rosi as you are now part of it. I read about your passion, hard work and dedication in a world of non believers and am now a fan. It’s a new world and women MMA rocks. Good luck

  4. Rosi, just a quick one to say massively impressed. First came across you in fighters only magazine, but you showed some massive balls last night, well done :)

Leave a Reply

